zoogeez will helps kids raise $1B dollars

This post is a follow up to my initial submission to slideshare embedded below . This presentation has garnered nearly 7000 views and has been downloaded over 500 times. Not insane by web standards but at least it seems that enough people get it which tells me I’m not totally nuts. If you haven’t seen it, please check it out otherwise what I’m about to describe below won’t make sense.

The premise is simple: “people are more likely to care about people they know.”

zoogeez-logo-smallWelcome to ZOOGEEZ. My kids came up with the name and the logo.This sets an important precedent: this place is for kids and what we as adults think doesn’t matter (within reason).

So what is Zoogeez? Just a concept for now. But in 2009, it will be:

-an online playground for kids to safely play, create, watch with the mission being kids from around the world working together and getting to know each other

-focus is on fun first and foremost (kids won’t bother otherwise)

What can you do in Zoogeez?

-Play Games: all games are based on team work. imagine playing Tetris where one person is moving the piece side by side and the other is flipping it. Catch is that you can only play with people in other countries

-Create ART: art is created in teams: some post ideas, others draw and yet others colour. every piece is posted only once each step is completed. it should be pretty interesting to see what comes up

-Write Story Books: each chapter is written by a different child, and pictures are created by yet other children. this will be awesome

-Post and watch Movies/Videos

-Post and look at pictures

-Raise money

Let’s stay on the “raise money” piece for a second. I haven’t totally figured this part out yet, but I have an aggressive goal: raise $1B by 2012. Key is to make it very easy for kids to launch their own fund raising campaigns and I’m convinced they’ll do it. I know my kids will. Crazy? That’s 20M kids raising $50 each. That is doable. Bring in corporations to match funds and this is more than achievable.

I know there are lots of things to consider … security, language, scale, kids without computers … but for the time being, suspend your disbelief and decide if this is worth it. I have some innovative ideas to get around most of these problems anyway but can’t do it alone. The key is to pull together and start as this is not actually about the money, it is about fostering a new order that is unifying and supportive.

What do you think? What am I missing or including that is not necessary?

2 responses to “zoogeez will helps kids raise $1B dollars

  1. Allan,

    I think this is an inspiring concept and definitely worth it. I agree it is doable. There are many things to consider about what would make it succeed with kids and, as important, their parents. None of these considerations represent a fundamental barrier.

    Steve

  2. Hi Allan,

    I am an independent documentary producer very interested in the topic of Generation Z, the power of digital technology and how it can be used for social entrepreneurship, and also how education is lagging behind in terms of the way children engage in learning.

    I have stumbled across your change the world one kid at a time project and also your goal of raising $1 Billion – and also the Zoogeez site. My director and I have been bouncing ideas very similar to what you have touched upon especially in terms of the website and social networking applications. Your concept is great.

    I would love to hear more about your progress and vision as it could possibly be an interesting process to follow as a documentary story. Is this something that you would be open to exploring at all? Perhaps we can help each other in some way.

    I look forward to your response.

    Kind regards,
    Michelle

Leave a comment